Down the home stretch

Things are slowly wrapping up here in China, and I can’t say that I’m not excited to get back to the States.  I miss a lot of the conveniences of being back home.  I think I speak for everyone here when I say that I like China but I’m ready to be back home.

As of now I am done with Horizontal Jumps, we finished last (Friday) night.  That means that I get to be reassigned to other things for the next couple of days.  Around here reassigned is another word for doing the crappy jobs.  I guess it’s kind of fair in a way because I haven’t had to work the long hours that everyone else has had to.

As I sit here in my room, watching the Men’s Football Final on TV, I realize I could be there in person to watch this match.  I almost feel like I’m letting myself down by not going there, but I haven’t been getting a lot of sleep the last few weeks and took this opportunity to sleep in.

I wish I had some cool stories about meeting some athletes or something like that, but I just haven’t been able to do that like some of my friends.  My friend Stephen works at the basketball venue and his job is to make sure everyone goes into the Mixed Zone and doesn’t stay too long.  That means he’s talked to just about all of Team USA, and Craig Sager, who does the sideline reporting for NBC.  I get to sit pretty close to all the action but I just don’t get the same interaction with the athletes, I really don’t get to say anything to them at all.

I know this wasn’t much of a post, and wasn’t very long, but there hasn’t been a whole lot to write about lately.  I have 5 days left and hopefully I’ll blog 2 or 3 more times.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

