Dress rehearsal

Last night we had a rehearsal for Opening Ceremonies and if was fantastic.  This time we actually got to get on the field and in position.  I’m working with a steadicam operator.  All of us that are camera assistants are on the field, which is really awesome.  When you’re watching the real ceremonies in a few days, I’ll be sitting right next to a speaker on the top right, I’m between the Chinese/Olympic Flags and a gate.  My camera operator pretty much does his own thing, except when he needs a break or a battery and I help him, otherwise I’m just sitting there watching the event.

You probably won’t see me, and if you do you won’t know that it’s me.  I’ll be in all black and doing my best to stay out of any camera shots.  Watching it live is totally different than watching it on TV.  But you still must watch it.

Today was really nice, I had the day off and got a chance to go to one of the markets for some shopping.  I’m not much of a shopper at all.  I hate going to the mall and I hate having to buy stuff, that’s why I try to get my sister or mom to get it for me.  But today was totally different, I was excited to experience the markets.  We went to the Ya Show market which is just a big box building with six floors, five for shopping and one for eating.

Inside the floors are broken into tiny little cubicles almost where people put their merchandise.  When you walk by they call out to you and tell you that you want this shirt or whatever.  They all know English so they can try to make a sale.  One of the best things is that no matter what price they tell you, you should get it for less.  You bargin with them and try to get it to what you want to buy it for.  Can you imagine doing that at Wal-Mart or Sears?  They have a lot of name brand stuff, who knows if it’s real or a really good fake.  I got a few gifts but I’m going to try and get to a few more markets before I leave.

I also want to say that the last few days were kind of strange for me.  I knew that they would be when I left, but once they came it still was weird.  On Friday two of my best friends got married, and I had to miss it.  There are the first two really good friends of mine to get married and I was really sad that I couldn’t be there.  I just want to say Congratulations to the Jake and Lena (Haire) Stevenson.

Also around the same time two more of my best friends got engaged.  I also knew this was coming, and was sad to not be there.  Mark is easily one of my closest friends and I’m very happy for him.  I think he picked a great girl and I wish them the best.  Congratulations to Mark Baker and Kaylene Proctor.

This is the other side, the not so fun side of this trip.  Yes I am having a fantastic time and I have a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, but at the same time I have to miss out on a lot that’s going on back home.  I guess that’s the one downside of this trip, missing out on some of the things I care about most.  I guess that makes this even more of a learning experience for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

