Site Seeing

I think I’m getting settled in here pretty nicely.  I’m adjusting to the culture and learning quickly how to get places.  The best way is to ask one of the workers at the front desk of our building.  They will look up anything, call for us, and write down directions so we can give it to the taxi driver.  They really are some of the nicest and coolest people I’ve ever met.  They are so willing to help in anyway they can and they always greet us in English and tell us to “have a good day” every time they see us, and always with a big smile on their face.

With that being said, yesterday I went with some friends to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City.  That was incredible.  To me looking at a site and realizing the history that happened there is phenomenal.  Standing there and thinking about that one man standing in the way of those tanks is truly a lasting moment.  The Forbidden City was even more impressive.  I never realized how big it really was.  I guess every time I saw it on a map I didn’t realize how big the city of Beijing was.  We didn’t go into the entire city, we didn’t have enough time.  Plus it cost money to get into the inner area and we didn’t want to pay 60 RMB, which is about $8 or so.

While we were in the Forbidden City 4 or 5 different Chinese people wanted to get their picture taken with me.  The four of us couldn’t figure out why each time they singled me out rather than the other three guys.  We have two theories: I was the tallest out of our group, and I have a nice (almost) full beard.  We could be totally wrong.

Later that night one of the guys that was with me (Thomas) and I went out to dinner with our professor and his family.  They took us to their favorite restaurant (they moved to Beijing for a brief time so he could do planning with our company).  The restaurant was called “The Great Wall” not to be confused with the restaurant of the same name in Wilmore, no corporation going on there.

It was a nice meal served family style, and the only reason I bring it up is because I tried duck for the first time.  Now I’m not a person to try a lot of different foods ever.  I like what I like and I don’t like to try things I might not like.  It’s just how I am.  It really wasn’t that bad, but it won’t be my favorite dish either.  I figure it’s part of my responsibility to try new things while I’m here because who knows when I’ll be back.

One more note: if you would like to contact me or make a remark about one of my posts please send an e-mail to  tj.budd@yahoo.com” tj.budd@yahoo.com or Facebook me.  I can’t see this site over here so I can’t see any comments obviously.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

