Rules Change All the Time

One thing you learn pretty early here in China is that rules change constantly. You would think that we would take the same route to work everyday but different roads are closed everyday. There is a lot of security around any Olympic Venue, including our Village, and everyday there is some different security measure. It can be frustrating but you just learn to handle it because that’s just the way things are done here, and if you argue you’ll go to jail. It’s just the way it is here.

Yesterday was a rehearsal for the Opening Ceremonies and the stadium was packed out. I wish I could tell you all about everything, but I didn’t even see anything. When we got to work we were given a ticket to get into the stadium for the day, our credentials apparently weren’t going to be enough. Around 3 or 4 we were told that the production team wasn’t going to be allowed to be in the arena to practice. That means that no cameramen were allowed at their positions.

We were told to go home by our boss so we did, that turned out to be a big mistake. Some people stayed behind and used their ticket to get in as any other spectator, which for some stupid reason I didn’t think to do. So, they watched the whole performance minus the torch lighting, and I missed out. They all said it was incredible, and the way they describe it, it should be. Luckily there are two more rehearsals, one on the 2nd and one on the 5th. Hopefully that means we will be able to get in and practice like all the people on the stage. We’ll see.

I really don’t want you all to think that China is wrong or bad for these decisions. I don’t agree with them and neither do a lot of people and it certainly makes our jobs harder, but that’s just the way things are done here. It’s a different culture and you really don’t have a point of reference until you come here. They live a different way for different reasons than we do, but that certainly doesn’t make things wrong in whole. They are great people and a lot of fun to be around.

I think we will be assigned cameramen to work with pretty soon and I’m excited. I have been trying to get to know some of the cameramen and build relationships with them, because those are the guys I’ll be working next to. There is a chance I could be on the field for the Opening Ceremonies, but we’ll wait and find out. I’m hoping we get assigned in the next day or so, but who knows.

No new pictures at this time because even if I could take pictures I won’t be able to post any from inside the National Stadium till later. I’ll try and take some and post them later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

